Lakota Creation Myth

In the beginning, prior to the creation of the earth, the gods resided in an undifferentiated celestial
domain and humans lived in an indescribably subterranean world devoid of culture. Chief among the
gods were Takushkanshkan ("something that moves"), the Sun, who is married to the Moon, with whom
he has one daughter, Wohpe ("falling star"); Old Man and Old Woman, whose daughter Ite ("face") is
married to Wind, with whom she has four sons, the Four Winds. 

Among numerous other spirits, the most important is Inktomi ("spider"), the devious trickster. Inktomi
conspires with Old Man and Old Woman to increase their daughter's status by arranging an affair
between the Sun and Ite. The discovery of the affair by the Sun's wife leads to a number of punishments
by Takuskanskan, who gives the Moon her own domain, and by separating her from the Sun initiates the
creation of time.

Old Man, Old Woman, and Ite are sent to earth, but Ite is separated from the Wind, her husband, who,
along with the Four Winds and a fifth wind presumed to be the child of the adulterous affair, establishes
space. The daughter of the Sun and the Moon, Wohpe, also falls to earth and later resides with the South
Wind, the paragon of Lakota maleness, and the two adopt the fifth wind, called Wamniomni

The Emergence.

Alone on the newly formed earth, some of the gods become bored, and Ite prevails upon Inktomi to find
her people, the Buffalo Nation. In the form of a wolf, Inktomi travels beneath the earth and discovers a
village of humans. Inktomi tells them about the wonders of the earth and convinces one man, Tokahe
("the first"), to accompany him to the surface. Tokahe does so and upon reaching the surface through a
cave (Wind Cave in the Black Hills), marvels at the green grass and blue sky. Inktomi and Ite introduce
Tokahe to buffalo meat and soup and show him tipis, clothing, and hunting utensils. Tokahe returns to
the subterranean village and appeals to six other men and their families to travel with him to the earth's
surface. When they arrive, they discover that Inktomi has deceived them: buffalo are scarce, the weather
has turned bad, and they find themselves starving. Unable to return to their home, but armed with a new
knowledge about the world, they survive to become the founders of the Seven Fireplaces.

The Seven Sacred Rites. 

Wohpe ("Falling Star") appears to the Lakota as a real woman during a period of starvation. She is
discovered by two hunters, one of whom lusts for her. He is immediately covered by a mist and reduced
to bones. The other hunter is instructed to return to his camp and tell the chief and people that she,
"White Buffalo Calf Woman," will appear to them the next day. He obeys, and a great council tipi is
constructed. White Buffalo Calf Woman presents to the people a bundle containing the sacred pipe, and
she tells them that in time of need they should smoke from the pipe and pray to Wakantanka for help.
The smoke from the pipe will carry their prayers upward. She then instructs them in the seven sacred
rites, most of which continue to form the basis of Lakota religion, including the sweat lodge, the vision
quest, and the Sun danceday. 

[taken from William Power's article, "Lakota Religion" in the Encyclopedia of Religion.]